Don’t judge a book by its cover

As a disabled person I am constantly trying to prove myself to others in order to cement myself a place of understanding and acceptance within society. I have countless examples of instances where people have made assumptions about my intelligence and capabilities based solely on my appearance. Often this is evident in a persons patronising tone of voice and pattern of speech or tendency to be overbearing in an attempt to be helpful. Usually this is quickly overcome as soon as they hear me speak however, whether in an effort to save face or just plain ignorance this is not always the case.

I do not claim to be a Rocket Scientist or a Super model and I’m not going to win the Tour du France anytime soon, but That does not diminish my contribution to the world at large.

My hope is that in writing this blog I can help to convince people that a person with a disability is not someone to be judged, patronised or felt sorry for but someone who might have a lot to bring to the table. I’m not sure where it will take me or even how long I can keep it up but come along, who knows you might learn something…

Ignorance is bliss so let’s help those who are ignorant take their blissful ness elsewhere!

XOXO

4 thoughts on “Don’t judge a book by its cover

  1. This is wonderful Nina!! I am very proud of you!! Such a beautiful person inside & out!! Welcome to the world of blogging 🙂 xxxx

  2. Nina. Great idea. You have always been one of my hero’s. I am glad I have this opportunity to tell you this. John and I only see you occasionally but for me you have the courage and heart of a lion. Be proud of your self you are a beatiful, smart and intelligent lady. Hope you are enjoying your trip to Canada. Xxx

Leave a Reply

