What ever happened to live and let live?

So…
I heard on the radio that Oscar the grouch should be canned by Sesame Street because apparently he is offensive to the homeless. The kookaburra from the popular children’s song” kookaburra sits on the old gum tree” can no longer describe his life as gay because it might make the kiddies question their orientation.  Noddy is frowned upon because of his “Close” relationship with his friend Big Ears and the Fairy Penguin must now be called a Little Penguin after a lengthy protest by Tinkerbelle. Okay, so that last one isn’t actually true… It was actually the tooth fairy.

I am possibly a little bit cynical about things like this but WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH EVERYBODY?  I find it difficult to see how any of these examples could possibly be seen as anything other than what they are. Oscar is living in a trash can because he’s a grouch and as a grouch he likes trash. The kookaburra’s life is gay because in the 1930s when the nursery rhyme was written the word gay meant happy. And I have watched many episodes of Noddy and have no idea what people are on about, if you must pick on Noddy, I would start with his lack of driving ability not his choice of friends.

In my humble opinion I think as a society we are now far too precious and if I may say so, a bit hypocritical. While the above are now taboo, along with many others, there still exists a wonderful little song called “one of these things is not like the other”. The lyrics of this song are as follows:

One of these things is not like the others. One of these things just doesn’t belong. Can you tell which thing is not like the others by the time I finish my song

Now, this is a harmless song that teaches children how to identify objects but…If Oscar is offensive then this song can also be obscured and seen as a platform that sanctions segregation and advocates ostracizing those who are different. How is this a healthier message? My point is that anything can be offensive if we want it to be so let’s just relax and try to see things as they actually are.

I am not sure how reliable I am to judge when it comes to things like this though. It wasn’t until recently that I worked out that Santa Claus in the song “I saw mummy kissing Santa Claus” was actually Daddy and that Mr Squiggle’s drawings were always upside down because as a marionette he was being operated by a puppeteer who was above him. But still I don’t get it!

It is becoming so ridiculous that in years to come people will be afraid to even describe themselves.  For example, if I wanted to describe myself like this:

My name is Nina. I am a 28-year-old white female.…
It would need to be translated as:

My name is Nina. I am a 20-something year old, melaninly dis-advantaged homo sapien who lacks a Y chromosome.

Yep that’s much better!

XOXO

2 thoughts on “What ever happened to live and let live?

  1. ahhhhh neens you are so funny and write so well!!! sorry i am only just getting to read all of your entries, i feel like i haven’t had chance to sit down in weeks!!! well done you!!!! xxxx

Leave a Reply

