The Fresh Princess of Cochlear

 

 

Now this is a story of about how my life got flipped, turned upside down. So I’d like to take a minute, just sit right there. I’ll tell you how they turned on my brand new cochlear (implant).

In Western Australia I was amazed, it sounded like I was getting a transmission from outer space.  Like getting a fax it wasn’t very cool. And the voices sounded like they were coming from the bottom of a pool.  Then a couple of sounds that were not understood started coming forward, I was feeling good.

They made some volume adjustments and the nerves began to stir. So this is what it’s like to have a working cochlear.  I grinned at my dad who was sitting quite near and I checked out the new hardware in the reflection of the mirror. If anything was heard it was still quite unclear but I thought at least now I have a switched on cochlear (implant).

We got back to the house not very late. And the doggies were barking. On my ear it did grate.  It will take lots of training till I finally get there. But so far I’m happy with my brand-new cochlear (implant).

Apologies to those fans of “The Fresh Prince of Belair”

 

XOXO

Leave a Reply

